SoT 246: Nobel Prizes 2016

October 21, 2016

Hosts: Ed Brown, Dr. Shayne Joseph and Lucas Randall.

[00:01:12] The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to Yoshinori Ohsumi “for his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy“.

[00:06:43] The Nobel Prize in Physics was divided, one half awarded to David J. Thouless, the other half jointly to F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz “for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter“.

[00:11:06] The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded jointly to Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa “for the design and synthesis of molecular machines“.


This episode may contain traces of Nobel Committee member Thor Hans Hansson explaining topology with his lunch.